Gethsemane Herron-Coward & Katherine Wilkinson
July 31-Aug 3
Writer, activist, Black, lesbian, poet, warrior. With the strength of dozens of women, Audre Lorde writes her last poem before illness stills her pen. This production is built with and performed by an ensemble of women who celebrate Audre Lorde's legacy and who are committed to building the future embodied by Lorde's visceral poetry and tireless activism. LORDES asks the question: How do we feed ourselves in a world where we are meant to starve?
Written by Gethsemane Herron-Coward & Katherine Wilkinson
Directed by Katherine Wilkinson
Choreographed by Jill Vallery
Composed by Aviva Jaye
Music Direction by Emily Erickson
Produced by Cynthia Tong
Featuring: Jaz Astwood, Mikayla Bartholomew*, Mia Canter, Shelby Coleman, Tyler Cruz, Ime Ekiko, Giselle Gant, Averi Israel, Rentia Lewis, Xi (Zoey) Lin, Kathryn Metzger*, Josca Moore, Sayaka Nishijima, Jules Rencher, Ana Ribeiro, Jonelle Robinson, Regina Romero, Christine Smith, Clarissa Vickerie, Carmen Vienhage, Victoria Villier, Kimberlee Walker, Caitlin Wells, Rebecca-Anne Whittaker, Memory Willis
Scenic Design by Melanie May
Costume Design by Jessica Crawford
Lighting Design by Erin Earle Fleming
Sound Design by Kathy Ruvuna
Stage Manager: Aimee-Marie Holland*
Assistant Stage Manager: Monica Athenas
Dramaturg: Eliza Grace Madrone
Assistant Director: Ruby Donohoe
Script Supervisor: Lauren Alcindor
Casting Director: Maryl McNally
Associate Producer: Alida Rose Delaney
Assistant Producer: Allison Taaffe
*Equity Member appearing with permission of Actors' Equity Association without benefit of an Equity contract in this Off-Off Broadway production.
About the artists
Katherine Wilkinson is a Brooklyn-based director and producer who has developed work with Juilliard, Signature Theatre, Classical Theatre of Harlem, Fusebox Festival, Corkscrew Festival, Dixon Place, Movement Research, The Watermill Center, and The Tank. Gethsemane Herron-Coward is a poet-turned-playwright who has developed work with The Fire This Time Festival, Signature Theatre, Classical Theatre of Harlem and The Hearth. She is a 2016 Finalist for the Jane Chambers Playwriting Award and a 2018 Millay Colony Fellow.
<<Back to Ice Factory 2019 Lineup
Credits: Photo of the artists at top of page by John Keon Photo. Production photos by Shannon Finnell.